Tomsk State Pedagogical University

  • Home
  • News


In February, the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR) announced the results of its prestigious annual award. The first prize for the cycle of scientific research titled «New Methods in Classical and Quantum Field Theory with Extended Supersymmetry» was awarded to a group of scientists, including Professor I. L. Buchbinder, the director of TSPU's Center for Theoretical Physics, and a researcher from the same center, B. S. Merzlikin. The research team also comprised scientists from the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research and Moscow State University.

The scientific group has been working on the topic for almost six years. The key achievement of the research is the formulation of new methods for constructing effective actions with preservation of explicit and hidden symmetries at all stages and their subsequent application to various field theory models in the classical and quantum domains. The results obtained were published in 22 papers, mainly in Physics Letters B, Nuclear Physics B, and Journal of High Energy Physics, and were presented in 15 plenary papers at international conferences.

JINR is a large intergovernmental organization that operates under the governance of the Committee of Plenipotentiaries and the International Scientific and Technical Council. It is comprised of several separate institutes, or laboratories, with a primary focus on research related to nuclear physics, elementary particle physics, and condensed matter physics. One of JINR's largest theoretical physics laboratories, with over 300 staff members, has collaborated with I.L. Buchbinder for many years. JINR also awards several prizes annually in the field of fundamental and applied physics.

However, this is preceded by a rather long and rigorous procedure of multistage expertise. Firstly, the scientific group applying for the prize must apply to the directorate of the corresponding laboratory and submit an extended abstract of its work. Afterwards, a scientific seminar of the relevant department is held, where the group leaders make an hour and a half report, which must be approved by the seminar. This is followed by a thorough discussion of the work at the Scientific-Technical Council of the Laboratory, where the work is nominated for the JINR Prize. Only after going through this stringent procedure will the JINR award be granted to deserving individuals or groups. The award serves as a testament to their exceptional contributions and unwavering dedication to the field of nuclear research.

The JINR prize approval process involves creating a special jury and sending the work's abstract to three independent experts. Scientists from various external Russian and foreign organizations provide positive expert opinions. The jury votes on recommendations for first, second, and incentive prizes, and submits them to the International Scientific and Technical Council for the final decision. In the case of the scientific group including TSPU scientists, positive expert opinions were provided by Dr. Ivanov from the Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Dr. Petrov from the P. N. Lebedev Physical Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences, and Dr. Johnson from the University of Maryland (USA). A team of scientists from TSPU successfully passed all stages and received the first prize in theoretical physics for 2022.

The official award ceremony will take place in June of this year.

Information about the award is posted on the website of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research.